Tuesday, April 18, 2017

Buckingham McVie

There's an interesting album coming out on June 9th. It goes under the title 'Lindsey Buckingham Christine McVie' but, as it also features Mick Fleetwood on drums and John McVie on bass, it is effectively a Fleetwood Mac album without Stevie Nicks in all but name.

It appears that at least some of the tracks were intended to form the basis of a new Fleetwood Mac album - which would have been the first one from the Rumours-era line up in 30 years - but sadly it appears that Stevie Nicks was reluctant to commit to recording a new album on this occasion. Speaking as a Fleetwood Mac fan it's a pity there won't be one final album from this line up, but I love Stevie and I do understand her reasons. She has to be true to her heart and do what's right for her.

So lets enjoy this album for what it is...and from the sound of the wistful Lindsey Buckingham & Mitchell Froom produced 'In My World', it could be something rather splendid...

Full track listing 

1. Sleeping Around The Corner (Buckingham)
2. Feel About You (McVie/Buckingham)
3. In My World (Buckingham)
4. Red Sun (McVie/Buckingham)
5. Love Is Here To Stay (Buckingham)
6. Too Far Gone (McVie/Buckingham)
7. Lay Down For Free (Buckingham)
8. Game Of Pretend (McVie)
9. On With The Show (Buckingham)
10. Carnival Begin (McVie)

Friday, April 14, 2017

It Was 50 Years Ago Today...

...Or rather, it will be on 1st June 2017. 'Sgt Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band', the iconic, game changing Beatles album which was described by Rolling Stone magazine as 'the most important rock n roll album ever made' - with some justification - receives a 6 Disc Super Deluxe Edition reissue in May.

Disc One features a new stereo mix by George Martin's son, Giles Martin and Sam Okell from the original master tapes. Discs Two and Three features 33 additional recordings, mixed for the first time from the original four track master tapes. Disc Four features the original mono mix of the album along with six bonus tracks including what Apple are describing as the 'lost' version of 'Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds'.

The DVD features a restored version of the 1992 documentary 'The Making Of Sgt Pepper', promotional clips to 'Strawberry Fields Forever' and 'Penny Lane' plus 5.1 Surround Sound and Hi Res stereo mixes of the album. As the pictures above show, the package also comes with a 144 page booklet with rare images, handwritten lyrics, two posters and a replica of the cardboard insert, which is all housed in a cardboard inner case made to look like an EMI tape box, which in turn slides into an outer box containing the famous Peter Blake artwork.

All of the above is a wallet-worrying £109 as I write this, but there is also a 2CD edition which features the new stereo mix and 18 tracks worth of selected sessions and a vinyl version which includes the stereo mix and an alternate 13 track version. Full details can be seen on the Beatles website here 


Monday, April 10, 2017

Got The World On My TV IV

Car repaired. Mark from Uni assignment received. Gardening done. Housework done. Washing done and on the line. Shed clearance in progress. Review in progress. Mum looked after. Ironing and coursework to follow. Welcome to multi task Sundays!

Anyway, taking a little break from it all to create this post for tomorrow (Monday) of a few videos:

Steps - Scared Of The Dark (Video)

Steps all looking gorgeous in this video which was unveiled last Friday (7th April). Up and down the country people are learning this dance routine. Loving this song/video right now...

The Saturdays - Notorious (Video)

As much as I'm keeping tabs on their solo careers (Una released her debut solo album in February) I am missing the unashamed dance floor pop of The Saturdays. Here is one of my favourites by The Sats which is on my ipod as we speak!  

Jesus Loves You - Bow Down Mister

In the early nineties I was in a music store in Birmingham to buy a tambourine (long story!) and when I walked into the store this song was playing over the PA; one guy was sitting on a stool playing along on a semi acoustic guitar, while his mate stood at his side paying bass. The third shop assistant asked if he could help me and when I said I wanted a specific tambourine, he span it through the air to me and the three of us jammed along to this track. True story. 

Somewhere in my vinyl collection I have the 12" of this single, which goes like this.  


Mitsou - Drapeau Blanc (Live A Top Musique)

Having a liking for Gallic pop music I stumbled across this clip by the beautiful, intelligent, multi talented Mitsou recently. I followed a link from one of her English language songs but I like the French language ones far more!

Edwin Starr - War (Source Unknown 1970)

One of the joys of You Tube, for me anyway, is coming across these vintage clips of Soul and Disco classics. I have no idea where this clip of Edwin Starr's magnificent 'War' came from originally, but how brilliant is this?!

Thursday, April 06, 2017

Flowers In The Dirt

On 24th March Paul McCartney released a deluxe edition of his excellent 1989 album 'Flowers In The Dirt'.

Details of the dizzying array of different versions can be found here, including the 2CD edition, the 2LP edition and the 3CD/1DVD edition, which also appears to include a section of B-Sides, remixes and single edits available as a download only, though I'm not really sure why this is not available on a fourth CD but there you go.

A promo film for gthe deluxe edition can be viewed here:

Sunday, April 02, 2017

Hello Pop Pickers!

Taking a leaf out of the Pop Justice website I've decided to include a Spotify playlist of what I'm listening to at the moment. I might make this a semi-regular feature for anyone who is interested.

Once upon a time I would have been able to populate this with all new material, but TBWTA it's very difficult for me to listen to new music - well, any music at all really - except in small doses on You Tube or in transit on my ipod. That being the case I might do a few themed play lists from time to time.

So to kick off with here's 25 of the songs that I'm listening to at the moment. Some new, some not. Some escapist, some melancholy. Some pop, some rock, Hope you enjoy at least some of it.

Tuesday, March 28, 2017


Bless their pointy little heads Sparks are back with a new album entitled 'Hippopotamus' on 8th September.

CD, vinyl and even cassette (!) versions can be ordered from the band's website here and the first 1000 copies will come with an exclusive 7" single, even if you don't have a turntable.

The first single is the title track and is as brilliant and bonkers as always. Possibly the only song I know of that references Hieronymus Bosch in the lyrics!

Friday, March 24, 2017

Tell Me Something New: Roadcase Royale

With a little bit of time off from Heart this year, Nancy Wilson has started up a new band project called Roadcase Royale.

Joining Nancy are former Prince vocalist Liv Warfield and lead guitarist Ryan Walters along with a trio of Heart veterans: Chris Joyner (keyboards), Dan Rothchild (bass) & Ben Smith (drums). Nancy Wilson came up with the band name and says that is an interesting symbol. 'The big heavy duty road cases that our amps, drums and guitars travel in are much like the musicians they accompany on the road - strong and regal looking, yet all scuffed up and dented, covered in funny stickers that tell te story of a crazy traveling circus'

The band's lead single is 'Get Loud',which is classy and soulful rock music. Check out the video below!